SWCED Recognition Awards

Special Recognition Awards

The Texas Association of Parents and Educators of the Deaf (T.A.P.E.D.) continually strives to recognize all of the great people and organizations in Texas who give so much to the education of students who are deaf and hard of hearing.  The following is a list of those outstanding individuals and organizations who have received T.A.P.E.D. Special Recognition Achievement Awards in recent years.  These awards were first given in 1990 and are given to individuals/organizations for their contributions to the field of deaf education. To nominate an outstanding person in deaf education, click on this link.

Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Brent Pitt, Claire Bugen, 2018
  • Sandy Chance, Connie Ferguson, Mindy LaCour, Dr. Diana Poeppelmeyer, 2016
  • Sandra Connatser, DiAnne Allison, Marcia Crouch, 2014
  • Dan Diffee, 2010
  • Cheryl Ferguson, 2010
  • Jean Matney, 2010
  • Sharon M. Parham, 2008
  • Dr. Shã Cowan, 2004
Outstanding Leadership Award
  • Sharon Tallet, Mesquite RDSPD, 2010
 Outstanding Program Supervisor Award
  • Marina McCormick, Region 4 RDSPD, 2018
  • Angela Belding, Brazos River RDSPD, 2016
  • Kayla Hughes, Nacogdoches RDSPD, Kelley Watt, Tri-County East RDSPD, 2012

Outstanding Teacher of the Deaf

  • Ami Cecil, Cindy Williams, Chandler Schoonover, 2018
  • Barbara Talamantez, 2016
  • Rachel Roson, 2014
  • Melinda Gandrud, Brazos Valley RDSPD, 2012
  • Vicky Alford, San Marcos ISD, Region XIII RDSPD, 2010
Outstanding Interpreter
  • Christine Borel, Denton RDSPD, 2018
  • Melburn Bradley, Plano RDSPD, 2012
  • Julia Fleming, Plano RDSPD, 2010
Outstanding Speech Language Pathologist
  • Nancy Sinclair, 2016
  • Mary Ceglio, El Paso RDSPD, 2010
Education Service Award:  Diagnostician
  • Janice Wiggins, Houston RDSPD, 2012
  • Alice Martinez, Dallas ISD, 2010
Outstandfing Audiologist Award
  • Linda Gorton, Northwest Harris County Cooperative, 2018
  • Kristie Henry, 2014
Outstanding Principal Award
  • Merrie Bonnette, Houston ISD, 2018
  • Kristin Bishop, 2016
  • Amy Clark, Bryan ISD, 2012
  • Andy Pool, Brazos River RDSPD, 2008
Outstanding ENT Award
  • Andrew DeJong, MD
Outstanding Teaching Assistant
  • Margaret Guidry, Texas School for the Deaf, 2018